Gilcrest Elementary School

Welcome to Gilcrest Elementary

2019 - 2020 School hours: 8:00am - 3:35pm
Monday - Friday  September 3 - November 26
Tuesday - Friday  December 3 - June 2 

Items of Interest

 The 2019 - 2020 School Supply list can be found under the Downloads section on this page

Upcoming Events

Upcoming Events

OCTOBER  
Tuesday, Oct. 15 Land of Smiles presentation for K-3  12pm - 3pm 
Thursday, Oct. 17 3rd - 5th grade Field Trip to Fritzler's Farm 
Wednesday, Oct. 23  3:35 - 4:30  MESA
Thursday, Oct. 24 Rockies School Rally - wear your Rockies gear
Friday, Oct. 25 End of 1st Quarter 
Friday, Oct. 25  1st Grade field trip to Miller Farm 
Wednesday, Oct. 30  3:35 - 4:30  MESA 
Thursday, Oct. 31  2:45pm Halloween Parade and Parties
 
November
Friday, Nov. 1 2:45  Awards Assembly
Sunday, Nov. 3 Daylight Savings time ends - turn clocks BACK one hour
 
 
Nov. 4 - 8 Book Fair   Sales start Monday after school, open before and after school on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Also open during Parent/Teacher conferences until 7:00pm 
 
Tuesday, Nov. 5  Parent/Teacher Conferences 4:00 - 7:00pm
Wednesday, Nov. 6  1:00pm Perry Conway Assembly
Thursday, Nov. 7 Picture Retakes
Thursday, Nov. 7  Parent/Teacher Conferences 4:00 - 7:00pm
Friday, Nov. 8  8:30am  PTO meeting
Saturday, Nov. 9  6:00 - 8:00pm Ties and Tiaras Father/Daughter Dance in the gym
Monday, Nov. 11 Veteran's Day - Wear Red/White/Blue
Wednesday, Nov. 13  3:45 - 4:30  MESA
Friday, Nov. 15  11:00 - 3:00pm  PreSchool - 2nd grade Field trip to Goodnight Moon
Wednesday, Nov. 20  8:00 - 9:00am Principal's Coffee - come and chat with Mr. McDonald
Tuesday, Nov. 26 - No Preschool
Nov. 27 - 29  Thanksgiving Break - No school
***Monday, Dec. 2 No school - Begin 4 day week schedule***
 
December
Thursday, Dec. 5  7:00pm 1st - 3rd grade Music program at VHS auditorium
Friday, Dec. 6  2:45 Awards Assembly 

Preschool Information

For questions about PreSchool in RE-1, please contact Julie Lindauer, District Preschool Coordinator, via email at LindauerJ@wcsdre1.org or leave a voicemail at 970-347-2273 to schedule a screening.  

Congratulations!

GES earns Governor's Distinguished Improvement Award

Image of Governor's award flags 
Congratulations to GES staff and students for earning the Governor's Distinguished Improvement Award for the second year in a row! Great Job everyone! 

Locate Us

District Newsletters

School Calendar

Quick Links

Downloads

Inclement Weather

In the event that schools in the district would need to be closed due to weather or other circumstances, that decision will be made no later than 5:00 a.m. Parents and staff will be notified by phone and it will be posted on the Weld RE-1 Website. The following news media outlets will also be notified in the event of a school closure:

KUNC FM 91.5, KFKA AM 1310, Channel 4 (CBS4/KCNC Denver)

Channel 7 (7 News KMGH), Channel 9 (9News KUSA)

Channel 13(Fox 31), The Greeley Tribune

Boxtops for Education

boxtops for education
Please clip and collect boxtops for our school.
Each boxtop earns money for our school.
Students, please give them to your teacher. 
Gilcrest Elementary School
North Valley Middle School
Pete Mirich Elementary School
Platteville Elementary School
South Valley Middle School
Valley High School
Gilcrest Elementary School
1175 Birch Street Gilcrest, CO 80623 | Phone: (970) 350-4201 Opt. 6 | Fax: (970) 737-2400

© 2019. Weld County School District RE-1. All Rights Reserved. School CMS Created by eSchoolView
View text-based website